From Scratch Snake Game

0 favourites
  • 9 posts
From the Asset Store
Snake
$9.99 USD
Template for snake, fully documented in comments and video
  • Hello, all! I've been exploring tutorials and using the in-program examples to help me start my very first game. So far, using the chain-rope example, I managed to pin the parts of the snake together! Woohoo!

Some questions:

How do I stop the head from moving backwards? I have a 4-way, 90 degree behavior. I only want it to move left, right, or forward.

How do I fix the space between the body parts?

Thank you!

• For your controls, add an extra condition checking the angle of the head. Only allow the event to run if the angle of the new direction is +/-100 degrees of the head's angle

• I understand the logic but how do I do that in the program? I have a little knowledge in PHP. When I asked for help in those forums, they would post code snippets. Is that possible here?

• Snake movement covered in following thread:

• Thank you, Alextro.

I usually type in "construct 2 how do i...." and come up with a lot of answers, but I'm finding a theme amongst the help on the forum. it seems that no one gives directions on what to use on the event sheet, they just give logic.

I understand the logic behind my game, such as finding the angle of the head and such and such, but I really have no idea how to actually 'find the angle'. At this moment, I decided to take a step back and focus on head movement. I want to disable the opposing direction so the snake can not go back into the body. So if it's going up, it can't go down. Left, it can't go right. I can't figure out how to disable any keys.

My logic would tell me "when key is down", disable another key, but I see no such 'disabling' of anything. This program is a lot trickier than I expected. Suggestions?

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads