arranging the sprite order in animation

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
Carousel Animation, make carousel of you image gallery or anything
  • Hello!

I'm kinda new to this and I'm making my first construct game.

I'm setting the standing animation, for example, and I find it very weird that the program doesn't have a simple way to list the sprites you want in the order you want.

For example, in the M.U.G.E.N. engine (an old engine created to make fighting games) you import your sprites and then work in the animation editor, where you code things like this:

;----------------------------------

; Standing Animation

2,0, 0,0, 15

2,1, 0,0, 3

2,2, 0,0, 15

2,1, 0,0, 5

2,0, 0,0, 15

2,1, 0,0, 3

2,2, 0,0, 15

2,1, 0,0, 5

;--------------------

The first line read like this:

-2,0 (number of the sprite)

-0,0 (doesn't alter the position of the sprite in X or Y)

-15 (duration of the sprite in ticks)

The soft reads all the lines form up to down and creates the animation this way. once it gets to the bottom it loops.

This is a great way to map the sprites inside the animation and put the sprites in the order you want, with the duration you want and repeat them as you want.

So, I can't find this in construct. It looks like I'm forced to import the frames in the correct order, can't repeat a frame in the middle put at the end, or any other stuff.

Is there an easy way like this to map the sprites in the animation?

• Yes, by setting animation speed to 0 and do the frame changes with events.

• hmmm sounds a lot more painintheassy that I expected.

this really should improve in the future I think.

what if 2 animations use the same sprite? Do you have to load it 2 times and occupy the double of the space? it's kinda dumb.

• Please read the manual first. You'll see then, that you are confusing sprite objects, instances and frames.