Two seemingly similar Capx. One takes 11% more CPU to run.

0 favourites
  • 5 posts
From the Asset Store
Pack of illustrator graphic styles. Make your own logos, game titles, or anything you want.
  • I downloaded a large tutorial. I studied it and disabled everything that wasn't needed for what I was trying to do. I created a new project that does exactly what the Tutorial does. The only difference is variable names and loop names. The only image that is used is even the same format, same 32x32 size and similar in file size. (My image 400 bytes and tutorial image 430 bytes). The project settings are the same. I don't notice anything different. On start up they both create 144 boxes using the exact same loop. That is all. They both just make 144 boxes and does nothing else. The tutorial is disabled so it can't do anything else yet. They are both being ran from single file Capx, not from project files.

When they are ran in debug mode...

Tutorial

144 green boxes on a white background

60fps

Starts at 14% lowers and stays at 6% CPU

2.2 mb memory

Renderer webgl

My File

60fps

Starts at 29% lowers and stays at 17% CPU

2.2 mb memory

Renderer webgl

Both have the same canvas size, time scale, same scale, same project settings, same Window Size, both letterbox scale, ran in same browser, same everything as far as I can tell, even the Project configuration settings are the same. I even checked the layout properties/effects and the object properties, and they are the same. The event sheets even have the same events in the same way/order. The only difference is my file doesn't have any of the disabled events. Everything is disabled correctly. I disabled everything at once and only enabled the needed loop and the "on start of layout" call. If wanted I can remove everything unneeded from the Tutorial File to see if that helps. They 144 boxes are placed together in a 12x12 grid and look the same when ran.